On My Wish List

Detroit Steel (composite just doesn’t have the right ring to it)

detroitsteel.jpg

The 2007 Shelby Cobra GT500 Mustang (this is not the 2006 Shelby GT500 Cobra Mustang) is the most powerful factory-built Mustang in history, more powerful than the 1969 Mach 1 428 Super Cobra Jet or even the legendary 1969 Boss 429. 450+ HP, making this making it the most powerful Mustang ever.

2008cobra.jpgAt least for one year anyway, when Ford rolled out the 2008 version. It uses the same supercharged 5.4-liter V8 that powers the 2007 Shelby GT500 Cobra Coupe, but squeezes out roughly another 40 horses thanks to a Ford Racing Power Upgrade Pack. The Shelby GT500KR is equipped with a custom carbon composite hood with scoops, air-extractor vents and stainless steel twist-down hood pins, a lower front air dam with chrome-trimmed functional brake ducts, and 14-inch Brembo front brakes. The suspension has been modified to improve handling. The polished 20-inch wheels seen here are for show only. The production vehicle will come with 18-inch wheels of a similar design. source

The Shelby Cobra is without a doubt, the best argument against increasing the cafe mileage standards, don’t you think?

The above article is: From Nuke’s

Now I don’t like the cafe standards that would limit emissions and horsepower either, but there may be some hope for us.

Look at This

7 Responses

  1. Aaaagh! The link isn’t working, at least for me.

    I sympathize with the love of horsepower, though. I would love to be able to drive a dinky little gas-saving vehicle; however, I can’t haul fence posts or lumber to repair barns in them.

  2. Dang Swamps, the link works here…
    I only want the gas saver for going to work.

  3. Well, I don’t need a gas guzzler for work precisely, but I pick up stuff on my way HOME from work, like a half ton of feed, or a round bale of hay.

  4. I know what you mean. We have one work car (for going to and from work) a 4wd pickup for general use and the ’79 Bronco for fun and games.

  5. Robert D, if I lived up in the snowy mountains like you apparently do, I believe my commuter car would be a bulldozer.

  6. One with heat.

  7. How about one of These Swamps?

Leave a Reply

